The Word

  • Posted : 28/11/2017
  • Name: Mr James Church
  • Subject: 1 out of 2 parcels


" I placed an order which included some headphones and a gaming chair. I paid extra for Sunday delivery, as this was the only time I was available to receive it.

Sunday came and only the headphones arrived and when I contacted DPD they said that the chair wasn't coming because "they had not been able to load it on to the van". Apparently it's "hard to do their job on a Sunday".

At the time of writing I still have not received the chair yet, it's supposed to be delivered today, they suggested yesterday but I already had plans to go out, which could not be changed. Now I have to wait in again today which I had not planned for to receive the chair.

Obviously this service has not at all met my expectations and this has been a very frustrating experience for me. It's not only that I paid for a service which I did not receive it's that now I have to spend a precious day off of work waiting for a delivery to come, and I don't have the chair and am unable to use it when I wanted to.

I am not interested in excuses about Black Friday being a busy time, this time does not come as a surprise and should be planned for accordingly, services which you are unable to deliver should not be offered.

I spoke to "Jonny" on live chat and while he apologised and gave the excuse that DPD were busy because of Black Friday he only offered me a refund on the delivery charge I had paid. This is the absolute minimum I expect in this case for the reasons outlined above.

I have been a very loyal customer of yours over quite a period of time and I really think that if you want to keep my ongoing goodwill for your company you will offer me something more that reflects the cost to my time, inconvenience, disappointment and frustration in this case.
------------Scan Employee Ref--------
I have spoken to Jonny, he wasn't particularly helpful. "

Scan's Action

" Thank you for your feedback,

I'm sorry to hear that you haven't received both parcels that you ordered. Ourselves and DPD have put provisions in place to make sure that Black Friday went as smoothly as possible, however no-one can anticipate how many orders we are going to receive.

I have checked the live chat log and we have processed a full carriage refund as a good will gesture for the inconvenience you have experienced. We are unable to offer any form of compensation.

We have a very good working relationship with DPD. They do have very high delivery rates for first time delivery, I am sorry they let you down on this occasion.

I have forwarded your comments onto DPD so they can review this with the delivery depot and driver involved.

Kind Regards, "